medtourism.guideIndependent check of what clinics publish
Austria · Ophthalmology

Cataract surgery and lens replacement in Austria: a monofocal lens from ≈ CAD 3,446 per eye

3 clinics publish a price for cataract surgery with a monofocal lens, one eye in Austria: from EUR 2,200 to EUR 2,850 per eye, as checked on 26 October 2026.

3 providers checked; 3 publish a priceChecked 26 October 2026Not a quote

In short

Compare clinics: price and four terms

Travelling from

Each card shows the clinic's lowest published price for the procedure and whether its own site states the guarantee, the redo policy, aftercare at home and the treating doctor. Search markets checked: US;CA;UK.

Cataract surgery with a monofocal lens, one eye per eye · 3 clinics

from ≈ CAD 3,446from EUR 2,200 as published · per eye
Guarantee: not found on the clinic's site Redo policy: not found on the clinic's site Aftercare at home: not found on the clinic's site Named doctor: terms published
1 of 4 terms published · checked 26 Oct 2026source ↗
Price, what is included, terms as published
Page for international patients: not found on the clinic's site (checked 26 Oct 2026)
Kataraktoperation
one eye
from EUR 2,200
starting price

Included, as published

  • monofocal lens, toric if needed
  • first follow-up
  • personal follow-up

Not included, as published

  • not stated
Written guarantee
Not checked yet not assessed
Revision policy
Not checked yet not assessed
Named treating doctor
Published Priv.-Doz. DDr. Gernot Steinwender
After you return home
Not checked yet not assessed
Source: the provider's own page · observed 26 Oct 2026augenarzt-steinwender.at ↗
≈ CAD 3,838EUR 2,450 as published · per eye
Guarantee: not found on the clinic's site Redo policy: not found on the clinic's site Aftercare at home: not found on the clinic's site Named doctor: not found on the clinic's site
0 of 4 terms published · checked 26 Oct 2026source ↗
Price, what is included, terms as published
Page for international patients: not found on the clinic's site (checked 26 Oct 2026)
Operation Grauer Star mit asphärischer Einstärkenlinse
one eye
EUR 2,450
fixed price

Included, as published

  • not stated

Not included, as published

  • diagnostic appointment 150 €, deducted if surgery booked
Written guarantee
Not checked yet not assessed
Revision policy
Not checked yet not assessed
Named treating doctor
Not checked yet not assessed
After you return home
Not checked yet not assessed
Source: the provider's own page · observed 26 Oct 2026augenzentrumtirol.at ↗
≈ CAD 4,465EUR 2,850 as published · per eye
Guarantee: not found on the clinic's site Redo policy: not found on the clinic's site Aftercare at home: not found on the clinic's site Named doctor: not found on the clinic's site
0 of 4 terms published · checked 26 Oct 2026source ↗
Price, what is included, terms as published
Page for international patients: not found on the clinic's site (checked 26 Oct 2026)
Grauer Star Operation
one eye
EUR 2,850
fixed price

Included, as published

  • not stated

Not included, as published

  • not stated
Written guarantee
Not checked yet not assessed
Revision policy
Not checked yet not assessed
Named treating doctor
Not checked yet not assessed
After you return home
Not checked yet not assessed
Source: the provider's own page · observed 26 Oct 2026augenzentrum-koeflach.at ↗

Prices and terms as each clinic publishes them on its own website, checked 26 October 2026. Converted at the reference rate of 2026-10-23 for comparison; the clinic charges in its own currency. Not a quote: the clinic confirms the final price. «Not found» means we could not find it on the clinic's own site; ask the clinic.

Our reading

Three clinics in Austria publish a current price for cataract surgery. Prices were read on the clinics' own websites on 26 October 2026, and all are in euros. Every price is per eye, and all three pages are in German.

All three clinics price surgery with a monofocal lens. Augenarzt Steinwender in Graz starts from EUR 2,200; its price covers a monofocal lens, or a toric lens if needed, and its page was updated on 21 October 2026. Augenzentrum Tirol publishes EUR 2,450 for surgery with an aspheric monofocal lens. Augenzentrum Köflach publishes EUR 2,850 as a self-pay price and does not state which lenses the price covers.

No clinic publishes a separate price for a toric monofocal lens. Augenarzt Steinwender mentions a toric lens only within its monofocal price.

No clinic publishes a price for a premium lens, such as a multifocal, trifocal or EDOF lens.

Prices compare only within the same lens type, per eye. A price without an eye count or a lens type is not compared.

No guarantee or revision terms were recorded for any of the three clinics. Augenarzt Steinwender states that its price includes the lens, a first follow-up and personal follow-up. Augenzentrum Tirol charges a diagnostic appointment of EUR 150 separately and deducts it if surgery is booked. Only Augenarzt Steinwender names the surgeon, Priv.-Doz. DDr. Gernot Steinwender; the other two clinics do not name a surgeon for the priced offer.

What we could not establish

Every point was either published or obtained by enquiry.

These are points not stated on the provider's page on the date checked. Answers obtained by enquiry will be added with their date.

Are you one of these clinics? You can send us the missing terms — free, and shown with your name and the date.

How to check a clinic's accreditation and a doctor's licence: our guides.

Six questions, answered from the data

What does the published price include, and what costs extra?

Of 3 providers checked on 26 October 2026, 3 list what their price includes and 3 list what it excludes on their own pages.

Is there a written guarantee, and what does it cover?

As of 26 October 2026, 0 of 3 providers publish their guarantee position (including stating that there is none), 0 refer to a guarantee without publishing its terms, and 0 do not mention one on the page.

Who pays if the work has to be redone?

As of 26 October 2026, 0 of 3 providers publish who pays if treatment has to be redone.

Is the treating doctor known before you pay?

As of 26 October 2026, 1 of 3 providers name the treating doctor on the page we checked, and 0 name someone in a different role.

What happens after you return home?

As of 26 October 2026, 0 of 3 providers publish what follow-up is offered after the patient returns home, and 0 mention it without conditions.

When was this last checked?

Every price on this page was observed on the provider's own website on 26 October 2026; prices are kept as dated observations and are never overwritten.

Before you pay, ask the clinic

  1. The full cost of a normal case — imaging, medication, extra nights and travel included.
  2. The guarantee in writing — what it covers, for how long, and where it can be used.
  3. Who pays for a redo — including travel, if the work fails or needs correcting.
  4. Who treats you — the name of the treating doctor before you pay a deposit.
  5. Follow-up at home — who, in what format, and for how long.